Worry No More and Macy’s


I think I mentioned that the Magic Dobby stand had been thrown out by the previous owners. I inquired about the price of the stand and this thrifty gal ain’t payin’ over $400 for a few pieces of wood.  Bought another jig at another hardware store, which works much better than the Harbor Freight piece of junk, but then I began having other issues. At that point I did the adult thing and threw the wood in the box and cursed. I bought a card table to set the loom on, which is not working out well either.  It’s rickety, it’s too big, it’s annoying.  My shoulders are starting to hurt from continually flipping the lever. I’m either going to have to suck it up and try building the stand again, hire someone to build it for me, or fork over the big bucks. Option 2 is what I’m leaning towards. Only problem is I don’t know where to find a wood worker. I’m going to try placing an ad on Craigslist.

I’m removing my rant about Worry No More guarantee from Macy’s. After filing my appeal, they did decide to make things right.  Squeaky wheel and all that, and at least I don’t have to file my first ever lawsuit

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mike
    Nov 11, 2013 @ 16:41:14

    I’m currently in a waiting game with “Uniters”, the company that handles Macy’s “Worry No More”…I’ve read many on the complaints online; in fact, I haven’t found any happy stories of anyone easily having an item cleaned or replaced as guaranteed. Anyway, there seems to be some success for those having gone through BBB. I would, actually I may have to myself, file a claim with them.

    Reply

    • Restless
      Nov 15, 2013 @ 21:15:51

      Perhaps it was me getting quite forceful on the phone before sending my appeal or maybe the pictures actually worked, they’re supposedly going to replace the mattress. I don’t know about the BBB but I did read one person who said they emailed the state insurance board and the CEO of Macy’s or some such and also CC’d Uniters, and finally got their issue resolved.

      Reply

  2. Cally
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 13:58:41

    Have you got a camping table? I use one under my little Louet table loom and it works a treat. The legs of the table are individually adjustable so that I can get it rock steady even on my uneven stone-and-concrete floor and I have also dropped it about as low as it will go, which turns out to be the perfect height for loomage. It wasn’t the very cheapest camping table, but it only cost about 30 quid. And it doubles up for Actual Camping as well!

    Reply

    • Restless
      Nov 15, 2013 @ 21:12:35

      I looked at camping tables but was afraid they wouldn’t be able to hold the weight. I have the larger Magic Dobby (70lbs I think) so need a table that is sturdy enough and at least 34 inches wide.

      Reply

      • Cally
        Nov 17, 2013 @ 10:31:05

        Yup, that’s a pretty hefty loom. Other than offering to do a week-long weaving demo at the camping store by way of a test, I think your woodworking option is probably a better plan!

Leave a Reply

