Here’s the table loom


So, the estate sale.. As I mentioned I got some books and a table loom.  My bookshelves are so full that I can’t fit my new books in, so I’m selling some that I no longer use or have duplicates of.  I also have a stack of duplicate Handwovens I’ve needed to move out for a long time that I still haven’t listed. Laziness, pure laziness. Back to the estate sale.  The loom is a Studio of Handcrafts 24″ 8 shaft table loom with stand.  I searched the web trying to find pictures or more info and there’s not much out there, so I took several pictures and posted them on Flickr. Hopefully they’ll help someone else. I’d never seen a loom like this before.

Full frontal. Oops, forgot to put the top tray on before taking pictures. And look at that monstrous warp!

1273s

This is what I’d never seen.  The beater bar isn’t hinged at the bottom, nor is it a swinging beater.  It moves back and forth on this metal track.  It always hits the fell at a the same angle.1286

The wood looks great after it got a clean up.  I did have to make a small repair to it. There’s a metal pin that goes through the lamms. I guess the original one got lost as there was a thin cord, almost like electrical wire, used to replace it. The shafts wouldn’t stay in place because the replacement wire wasn’t solid and was bent. We went to the hardware store, bought a new metal rod, and now it’s good to go.

One more picture here. (If you want to see others, you can see the full set here)

The levers for shafts 1, 3, 5, and 7 are on the right side of the loom. The levers for shafts 2, 4, 6, and 8 are on the left side.

1281

The back beam folds up which will save a little space, though not a whole lot.  The stand is adjustable and folds flat when you aren’t using it. It’s a heavy loom and if I were taking it to a workshop, I’d have to use something to wheel it around.  It handles teeny tiny warps just fine 🙂 I may put my crackler sampler that I will eventually get around to doing on it instead of the floor loom to give it a better run through.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Elisa
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 19:57:55

    Love! What a pretty loom. I’ve never seen a beater bar like that either but seems like a great idea. Wonder how it works IRL?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

