Again with the bleh


I sampled and I sampled to get the hearts just right, and then I screwed up.  So, the hearts scarf is done but not happy with it.  The tops of the hearts just aren’t right.  Too thin on one side, too thick on the other.  They aren’t like the 9th and final sample that I was happy with.  This is because sometimes I just do stupid stuff.  Like handwash the samples and get them like I want, then throw the actual scarf in the washer where it gets more agitation.  Which caused me agitation.

IMG_3520m

And, I had a warp thread break, the one right in the middle where it will show up the most. Eh, people won’t notice it when the scarf is worn but I just happened to take a picture of the spot when trying to get the reverse side. Of course

IMG_3519m

And then I folded the scarf in half and found that my reverse point was not at the halfway point. We’ve all known for a long time that I can’t count stitches, now it seems I can’t count hearts.

IMG_3513m

To add insult to injury, my other project for the guild challenge also turned out bleh.  I didn’t want to make more towels so decided on a bag.  I knew the minute I started putting the warp on the warp beam that I wasn’t going to like it.  No way in hell I’m carrying around this as a bag.

This is after wet finishing but the color isn’t right
IMG_3521m

The colors are actually like this

IMG_3493m

This may turn into a couple of extra wide dish towels, or it might rot in the closet until I get over my irritation.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Harvey
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 19:42:48

    While this did not come out to your expectations, I’m looking at it with ‘fresh eyes’ and think the heart scarf is lovely! Nice job….
    I would be thrilled to get one like this….

    🙂 Susan

    Reply

  2. Lisa
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 03:21:09

    I know just how you feel – the image in your mind just doesn’t match the woven product. Putting it away for a time while you forget your original expectations usually results in a nice surprise down the road. People are surprised that my favorite part of “weaving” is warping. But I think it is because my idea is still all potential. In any case – I really heart the hearts:)

    Reply

  3. Lynn D
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 20:51:40

    Hi
    trying to find a floor loom. would like more then 4 harnesses and wondered good places to look if dont want to travel far. (live in south Calif.)
    cleaning up a room for space now and also collecting all my yarns
    like your patterns . where did you find it?
    Thanks

    Lynn D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

