The sampler that never ends


I am still working on the sampler.  Good grief, am I slow or what.  I did cut off the 30 epi part and resley to 24 epi. I also re-threaded from 8 shafts to 16 because I had come up with my own little draft and figured I might as well try it out on the 24 epi sampler.  Somewhere between creating the draft and re-threading, I forgot what I was planning and threaded a straight draw when I should have threaded a point draw.

While weaving the 24 epi sampler, I noticed a loose thread.  Apparently when I tied onto the tie bar, I didn’t get one in there with the same tension as the rest of the bout.  It was only a little loose and it wasn’t really affecting the cloth, but it was bugging me so I hung a weight off that thread.  Which I guess was too much weight, or maybe it got caught on something, because a couple inches of weaving later, I noticed that there was a dark line appearing in my cloth due to a warp thread missing.  Here I’ve already started the repair

IMG_3350s

At first I told myself that it was just a sampler and it didn’t really matter if that one thread was missing for a few inches.  I certainly wasn’t going to unweave almost 5 inches of 16/2 cotton. But, wouldn’t this be a good time to learn how to fix a thread.  As it turns out, it was.  It was time consuming.  Those threads are tiny and sometimes I would get it wrong, but I would take it out and do it again until it was right.  I think there is one spot that I went under or over the wrong thread but hey.. sampler.. no one would notice.. I’m leaving it there. Not bad at all for my first time

IMG_3351s

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elisa
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 18:07:21

    Nice job on the repair. It’s hard to see now so once it’s washed and pressed I would think it’ll be invisible. You have more patience than I do . . .

    Reply

  2. Jenny
    Mar 24, 2011 @ 02:34:06

    This first time I did a needle repair was with thick wool at a set of 14epi. I thought, gee this isn’t too bad. But now with finer threads it is very frustrating when you take the time to fix it and your fix still has mistakes. It is not an easy thing to do. Oh well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

