I need a schedule


I wish I were one of those people that got things done.  Really, how hard can it be to set a schedule for myself?  It’s not that it’s hard to set a schedule, it’s hard sticking to it.  I’d like to be one of those people that you could stop by their house at any time, and not find anything out of place.  If someone were to stop by unannounced today, I’d hide under the bed and pretend I wasn’t home.  We’re messy around here.  Magazines, yarn, papers of things I’ve printed, and books surround my sitting area.  Game controllers, magazines, remote controls, and guitar stuff surround The Man’s sitting area.  Mail, receipts, miscellaneous crap, and dishes are on the kitchen counter.  Dust on the shelves. Pet hair tumbleweeds in the corners.  Containers of yarn, books, and magazines spread out on the guest bed. Lone socks, pants that need a hole repaired, hangers, and lint rollers on the dryer.  It’s embarrassing.  And yet here I am telling everyone.  I need a schedule, one that I’ll stick to.  One that I feel like I have gotten something done yet doesn’t make me feel like I can’t relax.  The thing is, I’m more relaxed when it’s not so cluttered, yet I don’t seem to want to break away from the other things to remedy the clutter.  It’s so much more fun to play with drafts and plan projects, read blogs, read posts on Ravelry and Yahoo groups, watch tv, weave, play with the dog, and the list goes on.  Discipline is what I need.  Maybe if I set specific time frames for specific activities, then I’ll accomplish the things that need to be accomplished. I know it can be done because other people do it every day.  Whether they do it by schedule or just by doing it I don’t know.

I’ve been promising The Man I’d make him a scarf for a long time.  While it was tempting to keep doing things I wanted to do for fun, I finally started one for him. The hardest thing about making things for men is finding something that isn’t girly and isn’t just your everyday solid black plain weave.  I like designs, not just color changes.  Though that’s what this one is, plain weave with a color change.  I should get that finished today and we’ll see how it turns out, if it’s manly enough.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dianne
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 10:51:45

    Ah, welcome to my world 🙂 Solution, I don’t know. I tried doing 2 hours of house stuff before heading to the studio but that didn’t last long. Does it matter? A friend once said to me, we don’t come to see your house, we come to see you.

    Reply

  2. kathy nystrom
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 11:36:29

    If you discover the answer, please let us all know! I’m fairly newly retired & am rediscovering about myself that I don’t do well without outside-myself-imposed deadlines. There’s a lot I don’t have to do–but I feel guilty when I don’t do it–& I *do* want to be creating lovely things & not just reading about other people doing so. Perhaps the biggest change I could make would be to limit blog-reading 🙂

    Reply

  3. Donna
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 14:36:53

    Meh, I know exactly what you mean. Our house is a pigsty and nothing around here gets done until the last minute. Then I’m stressed because I’ve got heaps to do and suddenly I’m stressed about the housework.
    If you work out how to do it all, let me know! 😉

    Reply

  4. ven
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 14:40:29

    Ya a good shedule is necessary for everyone!

    Reply

  5. Beth
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 14:16:18

    I have a terrible time sticking to a schedule, too. It’s just awful…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

