The Getting To Know You Shawl


I struggled with putting on a ‘real’ warp versus a junk warp.  What if I put a junk warp on and everything goes perfect? Then I’ve wasted the perfect opportunity to have an FO.  What if I put a good warp on and everything goes wrong? Then I’ve wasted a warp.  I went with a good warp, and as mentioned in the last post, a few things went wrong. The wrong wif for the threading I did, and an issue with a shaft.  I adjusted the cable this morning, then ran the draft without any warp on the loom and it seems to be working good now.  No more rising when it shouldn’t, or vice versa. So, while the shawl isn’t perfect, it’s not awful either.  I’d like to think that people wouldn’t notice the imperfections but that would be lying to myself.

Before wet finishing, you can barely see the design:

IMG_1350s

After wet finishing:

IMG_1351s

8/2 Tencel
Sett 24 epi
Width in the loom 25″
Width before wet finish 23 1/2″
Width after wet finish 22″
Length before 80″
Length after 74″
The draft is one from handweaving.net that I modifed

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Donna
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 14:40:00

    If theres a mistake somewhere, I can’t see it! Of course, I have no idea what a wif or a shaft is 😉

    Reply

  2. Sherie
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 14:42:53

    It’s marvelous and wonderful and so great! 🙂 Any imperfections are beside the point as it’s the first FO off the new loom. Congrats!!!

    Reply

  3. Michelle
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 07:31:49

    WOW! This made me gasp because it’s so beautiful!

    Reply

  4. Evelyn Oldroyd
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 14:31:51

    Beautiful shawl – I like the way it has a stripe pattern. The loom looks great too – have yet to see one, but looks well made and sturdy like all leclerc products.

    Reply

  5. Ellen Halseth
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 18:57:55

    I ordered mine yesterday. Luckily I don’t have to move furniture yet because it’s 3-4 weeks before it’s manufactured and another 12 days before it gets here. I’ve already recruited my sister to help assemble it.

    Reply

  6. Restless Knitter
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 20:26:11

    Thanks all 🙂

    Ellen, keep me updated.

    Reply

  7. Lynnette
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 15:24:25

    I think the shawl is simply beautiful…lots of shimmer! Getting to know your loom can be daunting at times, but don’t let it get you down!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

