She’s dressed


She has her own room.  Sort of.  This is a room that was built into the garage.  The previous owners used it as a bedroom, we used it for storage of Stuff.  I cleaned out the room and put Stuff in other places but she still has to share the room with some Stuff.  That’s why this is the only view of the room that you’ll get for now.  Regardless, there’s a warp on the loom and I’ve been weaving.

Weavebird

I did something really stupid.  I took a wif from Handweaving.net.  It uses 14 shafts but I wanted to use all 16 so I fiddled with the wif and moved some threads from shafts 1 and 2 to 15 and 16.  Later, since the software is new to me, I decided not to tempt fate and to just use the wif as is so only threaded 1 to 14.  Lesson number 1 with the new software – if you don’t pay attention, you’ll get to the end of the draft and start over at the beginning. I had to unweave 4 inches.  While unweaving, that was when I noticed that shafts 15 and 16 were rising.  Oh yes I did. I opened the wrong wif file one of the times I started weaving.  I must have done it from the beginning, or else the software wouldn’t have started where I left off.  But, I can’t be sure. I am so mad at myself for doing that.  Such a stupid mistake.  It was so avoidable.  I’ve thought about cutting out all the weft and starting over but with 36″ already woven, I’m just going to continue on.

I’m still getting to know the loom.  I had a hell of a time getting it warped, mostly because I was trying a method that I’d never used before.  The next time I warp, I’ll be trying another method.  I’ll need to cut new strings for the sectional beam as I got some shorter than others, and they’re close to hitting the wrong place on the beam.  I also have to find my happy place when sleying the reed. I had a bit of trouble seeing the threads, which probably has a lot to do with blue threads and the blue carpet background.  Also need to find a comfortable position to do it in.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Elisa
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 00:22:28

    That is one impressive loom. Happy weaving!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

