Boxes and boxes and boxes


The loom got here around 3 on Wednesday.  The Man got home a few minutes later, changed his clothes, and we began the task of unpacking the boxes and checking the parts list.  That alone took at least an hour (maybe 2!), they pack those parts WELL.

We went from this

IMG_1290s

to this

IMG_1291s

to this

IMG_1297s

which is where we left off at 9:30pm.

The next day, The Man came home early from work.  We got him packed for his trip, then finished putting the loom together.

Then, disaster struck.  We turned on the box and ran the test, which passed.  Then I tried the software from Leclerc.  I just wanted to push those treadles and see shafts rise and fall so badly.  No go.  I’ll spare you most of the details but after a spending a quite a few hours yesterday and today, it looks like the loom driver from Leclerc doesn’t play well with 64 bit Windows 7.

I called 2 different weaving software places to find out if either of them played nice with 64bit Windows.  Fiberworks called back first and, another long story short, I’m now the unintenional owner of Fiberworks PCW.  Which does play nice with 64bit Windows and now solenoids are firing off like good little solenoids should.

I’m not weaving yet.  I can see that I need to make a couple of cable adjustments, and I also need to put the heddles on the shafts. Some dumbass was so excited to put the loom together that she decided to wait on the heddles. In hindsight, this was not a smart decision.

Weaving to come soon.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janice in GA
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 16:31:20

    Sweet. I still can’t believe they’re behind on the software. Crazy.

    Reply

  2. Elisa
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 17:13:27

    Wow wow wow! That is one impressive loom Sorry the software isn’t playing nice. Did LeClerc offer a solution or just say ‘sorry’?

    Reply

  3. Beth
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 01:15:17

    How exciting!!! But how frustrating that you had that roadblock. Glad it’s going better now.

    Reply

  4. Ellen Halseth
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 16:03:16

    I’m excitedly following your progress as this is the loom I hope to purchase.

    Reply

  5. Ellen Halseth
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 20:28:06

    I’m ordering mine tomorrow!!! I hope it’s in Anchorage by the time I go up there for Christmas and I can bring it home.

    I’ve been madly reading the Weavebird Yahoo list. Whoopee.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

