Lessons still being learned


The loom in the previous post has been sold.  It’s still here as she has to borrow a truck to take it home in but she’s put money on it so I consider it sold.  I have one loom left until the new one gets here.  The estimated ship date is quickly approaching on that one and I’m getting more and more anxious as each day passes.  I’m trying to remember that “anticipated” ship date doesn’t mean “definite” ship date but it’s hard not to be excited.  The room is ready, it just needs a loom!  I should be using my time wisely and planning definite projects now that the room is ready.  Chances are, I’ll procrastinate like normal.

Speaking of being wise, I’m a little annoyed today.  I posted to my guild’s yahoo group that I was selling the Mac and included my full name and phone number.  It’s a private group, you have to be a member of the guild.  All guild members have access to my full name and phone number in our members guide so this isn’t a big deal.  What annoyed me was that someone pasted my entire message to a couple of other groups, including one that I’m a member of. Entire message including my name and phone number.  While I appreciate that she had the best of intentions, I didn’t exactly want my name and number appearing in places that I didn’t know about.  I asked the moderator of the one group I’m a member of to please delete those messages, which she kindly did.  The other groups I’m not a member of so I emailed the original copy-and-paster and asked her to have them removed from any other groups she copied to.  For those that get their yahoo messages in email instead of checking the website, that damage has been done and there’s no way to undo it unfortunately.  There’s two lessons to be learned here.  The first being (mine) no matter that the group is private, I shouldn’t have put my full name and phone number out there.  The second being (someone else) even with the best of intentions, you shouldn’t share someone else’s info without their permission.

Work has also thrown me a humdinger.  I started to type the whole explanation here but maybe that’s not wise.  So, short version is that I have to start my own company in order to get paid after Sept 30.  Starting a company doesn’t exactly happen overnight so until CA decides to grace me with some official paperwork, I don’t get to pass Go.  On the positive side, I guess I can officially say I’m a business owner.  Woohoo?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 18:44:13

    Congratulations on selling your loom! I’m sorry about your job and the hassle with your information. Maybe getting your new loom will help make it better. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Janice in GA
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 19:45:10

    Wow, what kind of business are you starting?

    Reply

  3. Michelle
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 06:24:46

    Do you have an accountant you can talk with? You may be okay if you’ve already applied for the paperwork. If you’re operating under anything other than your name you’ll need a DBA. You may or may not need a resellers license and possibly a city business license. I went through the process in 2008. My favorite book is “Small Business Survival Guide” by Robert Fleury. Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

