Re-stringing


The apron strings on the Macomber were old and were breaking.   A couple of months ago, I ordered a re-string kit and instead of fixing it then, I put the string and tacks in the tray on top of the loom, and the instructions “somewhere safe”.  (I still don’t know where that safe spot is but lucky for me, Sarah has the instructions on her blog.)  Somewhere between the time I last wove on the loom and a couple of days ago, most of the strings in the middle of the bar were broken.  If I want to weave something else on this loom, it was time to suck it up and get it done.

re-string

The tacks they sent were eating up the wood on the cloth beam so I bought a $20 electric staple gun and am using that instead.  I’m using my homemade raddle attached to the top of the loom to measure the strings to the correct length.  Once this is done, it will be the Harrisville’s turn.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 12:52:05

    You’re such an expert on all this now! When we used to knit together, I’m not even sure that you did any weaving at all.

    Reply

    • Restless
      Jul 06, 2010 @ 13:41:43

      I wasn’t. I played around with it right before we left but didn’t really get started until after we moved.

      You didn’t knit lace when we knit together either 🙂

      Reply

  2. bety
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 10:36:16

    That looks interesting and it’s probably easier than you think once you get going. Good Luck show us some pics

    Reply

  3. bety
    Jul 21, 2010 @ 11:52:07

    I’m glad I saw the pic now I know what I will need to be doing real soon :). I still have the old staples in the beams, do you think I can restring through them? or is that a stupid idea?

    Reply

  4. Nancy
    Mar 18, 2015 @ 16:36:18

    I need to restring my macomber and am so glad i found the picture of the raddle! i’m confused as to how to staple to the beam. do you have any pictures of that step?

    Reply

    • Restless
      Mar 18, 2015 @ 16:51:31

      I don’t have any pictures of that unfortunately. If I remember right, I think I just held the string to the beam and shot it with the staple gun, with the string in the middle of the staple.

      Reply

  5. Nancy
    Mar 19, 2015 @ 17:04:47

    thank you. the instructions indicate that a knot is to be tied at each staple and i haven’t been able to find anything that shows that knot. i’m VERY intimidated to get started restringing! i would hate to pull out the old and have trouble putting in the new!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

