Rust be gone


As I mentioned, the heddles, heddle bars, and tie up chains on the latest loom were rusty.  The heddle bars are pretty easy to clean up with a little WD40 and fine steel wool. The heddles themselves are a little tougher.  For one thing, there are a lot more of them than there are heddle bars.  It’s not exactly easy to scrub the skinny things with steel wool either.  I soaked the tie up chains in Diet Dr Pepper (we didn’t have Coke) and that removed some of the rust from them.  I soaked the heddles in a different cola and it didn’t seem to remove much.

Krud Kutter Rust Remover to the rescue. I bought 1 bottle to see if it worked.  Here are the heddles taking a bath


They’re actually in the plastic lid that goes on that pan.  It’s time consuming because I can only fit so many heddles in the amount of liquid I have.  And here are some before and some after their dip

I still need to dip the chains and I hope after I get all the heddles done, it will still be potent enough to remove the rust from those.  If not, it’s back to the store for another bottle.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 12:59:31

    Wow! It looks like that product works really well!

    Reply

  2. bety
    Jul 21, 2010 @ 11:55:31

    Where can I find this krud kutter stuff I asked at Home Depot and you think I was an alien that just landed from the look I got.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

