Exciting month


It’s been an eventful month around here.  I’ll start by saying that I don’t go to the doctor very often.  A couple of years ago, I thought I’d got bitten by a spider and I did go to the doctor.  That turned out to be a staph infection, the nasty kind that they tested for MRSA.   I got a bump this month so went to the doc to make sure it wasn’t another staph infection.  It wasn’t, it was a bug bite.  Then I got something like the flu.  Again, don’t go to doctors but a week and a half later, my throat was still kind of sore so I broke down and went.  I got some antibiotics for that.  Two days later, I got food poisoning.  Thought. I. Was. Dying!  Went to the emergency room at 10 at night.  About 5 minutes after I walk in the door, I’m feeling fine.  They gave me a prescription for nausea pills to fill the next morning.  I really thought I’d gotten it all out of my system and went home.  Middle of the night, woke up sick again.  The Man went to the store and filled the prescription as soon as the pharmacy opened.  The meds didn’t help.  I finally asked him to take me back to the ER.  Walk in the door, 5 minutes later, I’m feeling much better.  This time they didn’t let me just go home.  I got morphine and nausea meds in an IV, and my very first cat scan.  Fun stuff!  For someone who doesn’t go to the doctor, I went 4 times in the last 3 weeks.  I could go the rest of my life without food poisoning though, I’ll tell you that.

My daughter and her friend came for a visit and yesterday, we went to The Ellen Show.  So much fun!  It was Mama’s birthday show and we came home with some cool prizes.  A Kindle, Flip Ultra HD, an underwater case for the Flip, $75 gift card to CVS, a Motorola navigation system, a Weezer cd, and a 3 night stay at one of 900 hotels.  We also got a piece of birthday cake.

The shawl is still on the needles.  The loom is naked. And I haven’t done much spinning.  The rubber band on the tension broke and I tried to replace it with one I had around here, but I don’t think it’s the right size.  The person from the guild called (right before I started puking my guts up) and told me that I could keep the wheel another month so I may take her up on that offer.  I’ve bought the ouchless hairbands to replace the rubber band, just haven’t had a chance to put it on and try it out yet.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth
    May 20, 2010 @ 06:12:59

    Wow, those are some serious prizes!

    Did everything turn out okay with the scan? I am so with you on not wanting to have food poisoning again. It is so bad!!!

    Reply

  2. Michelle
    May 20, 2010 @ 07:11:14

    Hope you are feeling better by now!

    Reply

  3. Donna
    May 20, 2010 @ 16:32:51

    !!! Score! What an awesome goody bag! Sort of helps to make up for the crappy health stuff, huh? Good for you! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Benita
    May 21, 2010 @ 05:45:18

    A Kindle? Cool!

    Sorry you’ve been under the weather. But now that the nastiness is past, you can go back to playing with fiber. I can’t wait to see what comes off your loom next!

    Reply

  5. Bety
    May 21, 2010 @ 11:15:43

    I know how you feel if I see another Doctor, ER or nurse in the next 10 years it will be too soon. I’m glad your feeling better and very jealous about your prize booty, Ellen always seems to give away the best prizes on her show.

    Reply

  6. Elisa
    May 21, 2010 @ 20:09:59

    Wow, that’s some seriously great prizes. Good for you. Almost makes up for being so sick. Hope you’re feeling better.

    On the Lendrum, any rubber band will work. I just twist it or knot it back on itself until it stays put. Not the most elegant system, but it usually works. See you tomorrow?

    Reply

  7. sue
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 23:08:56

    Totally agree with you about the food poisoning. I am still recovering and it does take quite a few weeks afterwards to get it all out of your system too. My tummy is still a bit sore every now and then, depends what I eat. Hope you feel much better soon too. It sounds as though you had a fantastic time at the Ellen Show, she is fantastic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

