Spinning


This past weekend, I went to the Conference of Northern California Handweavers. I had a class on Friday, one on Saturday, and one on Sunday.  That was also 3 days of being able to spend half the day in the vendor hall.  While I did spend some time shopping, I spent quite a bit of time in the Spinning Corral.  The first day, one of the volunteers showed me how to spin on a spindle.  They had a bag of fibers and for a $5 donation, I got a spindle made from a CD and choice of two balls of fiber to play with.  I took it back to the room and again, I didn’t do well.

The next day, I passed by the booth selling Woolee Winders and electric spinners.  Thinking maybe I’d do better there, the guy tried to teach me using the electric spinner.  Boy, spinning must just not be my thing.  Not willing to give up, I went back to the Corral for one more try.  This time went much better.  The lady sat me at a Lendrum double treadle and told me to just sit there and work the treadles.  The goal was to get my feet going at a steady rhythm without thinking about what my feet were doing.  I treadled for what seemed like forever.  Then we introduced the fiber into it.  I spun yarn!  Granted, it was not pretty and it wasn’t even, but I did it!  Mini hanks!

The bad thing is that I now want a spinning wheel.  Like I need more tools sitting around the house, not to mention more yarn. I was ready to run to the nearest vendor that sold the Lendrum and bring that baby home.  Surprisingly, common sense took over.  Being as they had all those wheels in the Corral, I should try each one.  There were close to 10 different wheels in there and I treadled each without trying make yarn.  I didn’t like the Ladybug, though I was hoping I would simply because it has color.  The Clemes seemed to be very hard to treadle for me. Actually, I didn’t really like any of the single treadle wheels they had.  My two favorites were the Ashford Joy and the Lendrum DT.  Choosing between the two, in my very limited experience, I think I like the Lendrum the best.

I’ve tried the spindle again.  While I am doing better on it, I think I like the wheel better.  It’s likely I need something better than the CD spindle, or the one I tried to make myself.  Regardless, I’ve got my eye out for a used wheel 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. grecowoodcrafting
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 12:42:01

    Somehow, I had a feeling the “I already have too much yarn” defense wouldn’t hold up for much longer :p

    Sounds you had fun 🙂

    Reply

  2. Michelle
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 13:13:50

    Yay!! I’d recommend a Schacht hi-lo spindle in the lightest weight, it costs around $18. For the wheel, definitely the Lendrum! And let me know if you ever want to gtg for spinning 🙂

    Reply

  3. Sandy
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 15:12:13

    Wooohooooo! Catcalls and wolf whistles! Yay! Think how cool it will be to weave with something you spun! 😀

    Reply

  4. Elisa
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 18:48:11

    Hooray! Another spinner! And you have great taste in wheels. I love my Lendrum, wouldn’t trade it for anything. If you find one used you should grab it up fast; it’s been my experience that they are hard to come by.

    Reply

  5. Annie MacHale
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 20:08:50

    Glad to hear that you had a good time at CNCH, too. I own a spinning wheel, but never got the hang of it. Just give me an inkle loom and I’m happy forever!
    Next time you see me at a conference, I hope you introduce yourself.
    ~Annie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

