I’ll have to try again


Well, the coat is a bust as far as wearing it goes.  It fits in the chest area but below the waist is a different story.  Before I show you the picture, I’m going to explain a few things make excuses.

  • First is the fact that I didn’t take into account the widest part of my body.  Lesson learned.  I’m not really a big person but my hips are big on me.  Curses to my mom’s side of the family for passing down that lovely trait.
  • Second, my sewing machine has come down with a case of the grrrrrs so I hand hemmed one side at the bust and underarm.  I don’t know if I would call it hand hemming, more like just kind of basted it together so I could take a picture.  That’s why the side on the right (as you are looking at it) looks especially bad at the bust.
  • Third, those extra bands of color aren’t supposed to be there.  I had a little warp left so played with a couple of yarns.  I had every intention of cutting them off when it came time to finish the coat but because my ass doesn’t fit in there well and I’m not going to wear it, I just left the colors there. I kind of like them though.  They would be better if they were the same gauge yarn.  Right now, the band is hanging there like a flap and IF there is a next time, it will not be a flap.
  • There’s supposed to be more of a neck hole there but (good grief I say “but” a lot) I got a little scissor happy when I was cutting down the middle of the piece at the back and cut too far.  Like down to almost the armpit length too far.  Who knows what the hell I was thinking when I did that.  I caught myself about 3 inches before the actual armpit length.  I seamed it back up, which is why it looks like there is a dark purple line down the back, and I still didn’t get it seamed up far enough.  Again, not wearing it, not going to mess with it any more than that.
  • There’s also supposed to be crocheted trim.  Not wearing, not messing with it, you get to see raw edges.
  • I actually didn’t do too bad on the doubleweave doublewidth.  There are places where you can see where the fold was and places you can’t.

Alrighty, now that I’ve told you all the reasons it’s a failure, here’s the picture:

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 09:32:17

    Ah – you’ve discovered that you’re not loom shaped! I did much the same thing, thinking it would be so neat to weave a garment in the loom – no finishing (or not much) afterwards. Didn’t fit. Now I weave fabric and cut and sew. Much better results. 😀

    Cheers,
    Laura

    Reply

  2. Lynnette
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 10:48:11

    I must agree with Laura – loom shaped garments only seem to work on those lucky enough to be long and lean – frankly no one of my aquantance! I applaud your giving it a go….well done you! I think that the fabric is very salvageable and will make a lovely vest or tailored jacket, such a pretty colour and I like the stripes too.

    Reply

  3. Janice in GA
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 14:58:33

    Hey, it’s not bad, aside from the non-fitting part. And think of all you learned so far.

    (That’s how I console myself when things don’t come out the way I hoped they would.)

    Reply

  4. Beth
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 06:08:08

    I think it is so cool that you wove yourself a coat! It looks great!

    Reply

  5. Evelyn Oldroyd
    Feb 26, 2010 @ 16:14:35

    Lovely fabric. A shorter jacket? Gussets?

    Reply

  6. Vee
    Mar 23, 2010 @ 12:43:10

    Oh I hope you can salvage it…I like it. I agree, a shorter jacket maybe?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

