Feb 20


Look, 2 layers!

I’m having to force myself to weave on this.  Some of it is because I’m just not enthused about it.  The color combo is not really what I wanted but because I wanted to do this as a Ravelympics project, I rushed to find yarns that would work without having a lot of time to do more sampling with other yarns.

The other reason is the shuttle I’m using.  The yarn is a worsted weight so using the smaller boat shuttles that I normally use would mean using a new bobbin every few inches.  The longer boat shuttles I have are open bottom and have curved ends.  One has the end that gets thinner (not as thick) and curves up.  The other has the end curved sideways (still as thick, not as wide).  For some reason, neither are comfortable for my hand when weaving.

Regardless, I hope to at least finish the weaving today.  I’m going to complete the coat, at least as a practice piece.   Who knows, I may be pleasantly surprised and actually like it when it’s done.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alice in Richmond
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 15:35:51

    that is a teaser if I ever saw one!

    Reply

  2. Lynnette
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 20:03:04

    I can empathize, it can be a real pain when you don’t have the right tool for the job. I can remember many a project sitting on the loom for yonks because it was just too unpleasant to work on. Hope it all works out.

    Reply

  3. Elisa
    Feb 22, 2010 @ 14:42:35

    Thanks for the visual. I still have a hard time visualizing doubleweave. One of the guild/SCIART guys is going to do a 3-part workshop on doubleweave, from basic to intricate pick-up. I’m definitely taking the basic portion, once he gets it scheduled.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

