A rose in the rink


I’ve run into a little bump while warping and it’s slowing me down.  Some way, some how, threads are all twisty between the back beam and the heddles.  The warp comes over the back beam then through the lease sticks that are holding the cross, waiting for their individual turns to be put in the heddles.  If I pull the threads from the lease sticks in the order they’re in, I appear to have a small group of threads that are twisted around,  like the thread on the right should actually be on the left.  I know I put the lease sticks in right because if I hadn’t, the whole group of that warp chain would be twisted, not just small groups within each chain.   I don’t like twisty so I’m doing something that I probably shouldn’t.  I’m pulling the yarn out of the lease sticks and threading them in the order that they appear to be in when they come up over the back beam.  I’m not sure what caused the problem to begin with.  I don’t know if it’s because the yarn wants to twist (when you let a group of threads go, it almost looks like i-cord they twist so bad) or if I did something wrong.  I didn’t warp any different than I’ve previously done when doing b2f.  I think gremlins snuck in overnight and threw roses on my rink, causing little bumps to trip me up.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Life Looms Large
    Feb 16, 2010 @ 10:36:29

    I’d blame gremlins too!!

    I have problems often with twistiness too…don’t know what causes it!

    Sue

    Reply

  2. Laura
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 10:55:28

    Next time it happens, can you post a picture? I’m having a hard time picturing what might be the problem….

    Cheers,
    Laura

    Reply

Leave a Reply

