Feb 13


Today was weaving guild day.  After the meeting, Daryl Lancaster gave a presentation and showed us many wonderful garments.  Such inspiration!  In the afternoon, and continuing tomorrow, she was teaching a workshop.  I wish I could have taken it.  Unfortunately, my sewing machine isn’t portable.  And with The Man being out of town, there was no one at home to let the dog out to do her business.  Regardless, just seeing all those garments and samples makes me want to weave fabrics and sew them into something useful.  I did purchase her Seam and Edge Finishes Workshop booklet because I will have to do a little bit of seaming on this project.

I have the warp for the Ravelympics project all wound.  I was sampling up to the last minute and it looks like I’ll be using the off-white/purple combination.  I didn’t want to use white or off-white but it’s what worked so in it goes.  I’m going to need every last inch of the Cascade Sierra I’m using for the weft.  This jacket may turn out shorter than I’m hoping for.  That’s okay.  My goal was to use up stash yarn, learn doublewidth doubleweave, and have something to wear around the house in the cool mornings.  I hope to get the warp on the loom tomorrow.  (Don’t hold your breath, I am the Great Procrastinator.)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. ladyoftheloom
    Feb 14, 2010 @ 05:08:36

    We could have a procrastination contest! I am worse than anyone I know.

    I can’t wait to see how your fabric turns out for the jacket! Then maybe I will weave some too!
    Alice

    Reply

Leave a Reply

