Feb 2 FO


I started with a draft from handweaving.net, then played around with different treadlings in some weaving software.

IMG_0271

The warp is 10/2 mercerized cotton.  The teal, lavendar, and burgandy wefts are 8/2 unmercerized cotton, and the multi colored weft is 10/2 mercerized cotton.  These turned out feeling thinner than what I had imagined they would be.  The patterns also didn’t show up as well in the actual towels as they did in the weaving software.  In the future, I think I’ll use the 10/2 and 8/2 cottons more with twills or waffle weave.

A friend got a rigid heddle loom recently so I’m going to go see her tomorrow and offer my expert advice (insert maniacal laughter here), IF it stops raining.  Since I’ve never warped a rigid heddle loom before, I tried it on the small Harrisville that I bought at a thrift shop last year.  I don’t think rigid heddle weaving is for me.  I had problems getting the selvedges even.  I guess there’s a learning curve for everything and they’d probably improve if I kept at it.  I also wasn’t getting a good shed so I don’t think I will keep at it on this particular loom.  Then again, I could have done a bad job warping it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Beth
    Feb 06, 2010 @ 18:55:24

    They look great! Good luck with that rain. We’re getting a little soggy here, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

