January 2


Occasionally, I’ll go through all of my weaving magazines and books, looking for ideas for my next project.  What I was really looking for were baby blankets and what fiber most seem to be made from.  While I did find several blankets, I found something else too.  A long coat that I think even I, with my simple skills, might possibly be able to sew together.  I’m not sure I would really call it a coat.  For me, a coat is something thick and sometimes bulky, with a lining. This is just woven fabric, cut, folded, and sewn.  A long time ago, when I decided I wanted to learn to weave, I thought that would be a great way to use up my knitting stash.  A friend warned me that it didn’t necessarily work that way (and she was right, I have more yarn now than before) but I think this coat would be good for using up some of that stash yarn.  Now I just have to go through all that yarn and see what fiber I have the most of.  This might take awhile!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. holly
    Jan 03, 2010 @ 15:56:26

    I’m getting ready to weave a baby blanket too. I’m planning on a cotton warp and using some handpainted washable sock yarn as the weft. But size is a normal baby blanket? I’ve looked in several books and there isn’t a whole lot of consistency.

    Reply

  2. Beth
    Jan 03, 2010 @ 18:00:45

    Hey, I think a coat made of Cotton-Ease would look terrific! I’ll send you some. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

