Weaving with 60/2 silk pt 1


Bleh.  Apparently when they asked me to come back to work, they said they’d only need me through the end of December.  The only reason I know this is because they’ve asked me to stay thru the end of January instead.  This is going to put a serious dent in my purchasing of toys.  Bleh.

I know it’s silly but I’ve been letting 6 little 25 gram hanks of yarn scare me.  I’ve been putting off working with it because of that but it was time.  It’s been both harder and easier than I imagined, and I’ve only just begun.  I had planned on weaving it on the Gilmore, which has inserted eye heddles that would be better for the warp.  Unfortunately, I only have 500 heddles on the Gilmore, and I need 600.  The Mac has 1220 heddles so plenty there but flat steel heddles… more fear.  I don’t have much warp yarn left but I did have enough to create a tiny dummy warp.  I tied it on as tight as I could then raised shafts and moved the beater back and forth.  I was surprised at how well it held up with as tight as I had it.  Still, I’ll have to be careful and will definitely take more care when I weave on the real warp.

I have a little over half of the warp threaded.  Still, more fear.  This isn’t a straight 1234 threading. It’s more like 43213218218718768765 and on and on for a 176 thread repeat.  I’ve always printed the draft and threaded directly from it.  I tried it with this and almost skipped a small section.  Fear fear fear.  What if I already did miss a section and just didn’t realize it?  I’ll find out soon enough.  In the meantime, I created columns in the word processor and entered in the shaft numbers that needed threaded in sets of 4.  Each time I finish threading 4 shafts, I put a pin next to those 4 numbers.  This has actually helped speed up the threading process.  No more looking at tiny boxes on a draft and making sure I’ve got the right shaft number.  Now I just read off 4 numbers at a time.  Hopefully I’ll get the threading finished tomorrow, and the weaving started on Tuesday.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elisa
    Dec 21, 2009 @ 00:42:05

    I do that 4 numbers in a column threading thing too. Works great. I don’t have to worry about the pin or post-it or whatever falling off the threading chart and it’s so easy just to glance over, read the numbers, and keep going. Really excited to see how the silk works up.

    Reply

  2. Janice in GA
    Dec 21, 2009 @ 09:15:03

    Can’t wait to see what it looks like!

    Reply

  3. Ellen Turner
    Dec 22, 2009 @ 12:33:28

    I have woven with 60/2 silk several times, and it is much stronger than it looks, so, ok, go carefully, but don’t panic!! 🙂
    I often make up help-papers for complicated drafts, too. For a complicated treadling I have the repeat written out and taped to the bench beside me, and if it is really complex I move a small clip or something along as I go. Weavers will always find ways, right?

    Reply

  4. Sandy Gunther
    Dec 23, 2009 @ 23:26:14

    There is no reason for fear, silk is actually much easier to use than cotton. Warping to me is much more fun than weaving. I have woven with silk for years, if you have questions, feel free to ask. Have fun, relax and I hope you show a picture of your finished product.

    Reply

  5. Beth
    Dec 27, 2009 @ 18:21:29

    I have no idea what you just said. 🙂 But I know your project will be beautiful!

    Reply

  6. Jingle
    Dec 29, 2009 @ 18:22:20

    How neat
    to weave and knit
    with wit
    while have to sit…

    Happy New Year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

