Dec 14


Saturday was the weaving guild’s meeting/potluck/holiday get-together.  I procrastinated making the dessert I was going to take but did finally get it done and ready to go.  It also decided to rain Saturday.  I didn’t get 15 miles from home and saw two accidents, so I wussed out and went back home.  And saw several more accidents.  Really people, when it rains where it doesn’t normally rain, going 80 miles per hour isn’t a smart thing to do.  Every one of the accidents I saw were from cars driving in the fast lane.  Not that people don’t go slow in the fast lane but most people around here don’t.  Since I didn’t go to the party, we get to eat what I was taking.

In the meantime, The Man braved the rain and went to his uncle’s house, and ended up staying overnight since the rain got so bad.  That gave me plenty of alone time to finish a scarf.

I played with this in Picnik trying to get the color right, and ended up putting that smudgy edging on it.  I like it.  The color of the scarf is a little darker than the picture shows.  The draft is from the Sept/Oct 2009 issue of Handwoven, called the Budget Bamboo Shawl.  Daughter liked the look but she doesn’t wear shawls, plus the yarn called for doesn’t come in the green she wanted.  I used 8/2 Tencel, set at 20 epi to keep the lacy look and still shrink the width.  The weaving went so fast that I forgot to put my measuring string on.  Even after wet finishing, the thing almost reaches the ground when I drape it around my neck.  Both of my daughters are taller than me and this daughter likes them long anyway, so it’ll work.  I started weaving it Saturday night and finished it Sunday morning, then did the fringe in the afternoon.

I also finished weaving and fringing the black and white scarf for the other daughter.  I’m procrastinating the attempting to full it part.  I’m going to have to take a deep breath and just do it.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elisa
    Dec 14, 2009 @ 21:17:34

    That dessert looks yummy. And I love the scarf. Huck lace? Your weaving is always so beautiful. Looking forward to seeing your fulled scarf.

    Reply

  2. Beth
    Dec 14, 2009 @ 21:30:25

    Wow! That’s so beautiful! I love the green.

    Reply

  3. bety
    Dec 16, 2009 @ 13:54:24

    Both the dessert and scarf look great! I love that color of green.

    Reply

  4. Jodi
    Dec 16, 2009 @ 20:45:50

    That’s a beautiful pattern. The color too — it’s really lovely.

    Reply

  5. Meg in Nelson
    Dec 30, 2009 @ 14:24:49

    Gosh, I’m useless. Where there is a picture of something yummy and a piece of weaving, no matter how beautiful the weaving….. You get the picture…

    But it really looks lovely. The scarf.

    Reply

  6. ladyoftheloom
    Dec 31, 2009 @ 06:37:04

    OOo I wove that scarf and kept it for myself! Yummy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

