Facing it


I have come to the conclusion that no matter how careful I am, I’m going to do something stupid each time I start a new project.  I put an olive green tencel warp on the Harrisville and totally missed going over the back beam.  I always wondered how people could do that.  Now I know.

I was putting a black and white warp on the Gilmore and hubby called on his way home.  As I talked on the phone, I happily untied my cross holding threads.  Didn’t realize it until I got to the front of the loom and didn’t have a cross to put my lease sticks in.  I did get it warped and I think it turned out great for not having a cross.  I would say no harm no foul, but hubby would attest to the fact that there was plenty of foul when he walked in the door and heard me cursing.  Hello sailors, you have nothing on my potty mouth.

I did get the daughters waffle weave towels done, with the correct number of threads.  Yay!

Only two are pictured here, and they’re not yet cut apart in the photo.   They’ve been washed and dryed and are ready to be shipped out.

Here’s the black and white scarf on one of the looms.

This is called deflected doubleweave.  I call it a pain in the ass.  If the daughter hadn’t asked for it, I wouldn’t be doing it.  I really dislike using two shuttles.  Tucking all those ends in when you switch colors.. bleh!  Since this is supposed to be fulled, I decided to cheat and carry the colors up the sides.  While this yarn isn’t going to completely full, hell it might not partially full, I can only hope that you won’t be able to tell after it’s taken a bath.  The reverse side looks different.

No picture of the green warp since it’s still just a warp and no weft threads have been thrown.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth
    Dec 10, 2009 @ 17:32:01

    Okay, I think it is so cool that you can make your own towels!

    I do something stupid every day. Unfortunately, I’m kind of getting used to it. 😦

    Reply

  2. Life Looms Large
    Dec 11, 2009 @ 04:19:39

    Lots of cool stuff done or in progress, despite the mistakes!!! Mistakes don’t drive me as crazy as things that I just don’t know how to do, but need to know. That’s my pet peeve!

    The doubleweave scarf is cool, even if it’s a pain. I wonder if you could just let the ends dangle when you change colors and then cut close to the cloth before you full (or after?) No idea, but changing colors is a pain even though it produces some cool things!

    Have fun!
    Sue

    Reply

Leave a Reply

