Maaaaan


I’m almost embarrassed to post this.  Whatever, I’d be a liar if I said I didn’t screw up something.  Daughter K picked out some waffle weave towels she wanted from Handwoven, I think mostly because the colors match her kitchen.  Now the way I wound the warp on the warping board is probably wrong but it works.  Well, it would work if I knew how to count.  The order goes something like 25 red, 7 tan, 9 red, 7 tan, 23 red, blah blah blah.  At the same time, I was trying to make a raddle cross that had 12 ends per group.  I’d count 12 red, 12 red, 1 red (now 25 red) 7 tan 4 red (now 12 ends in the raddle cross), and so on.  Only somewhere along the line, I lost all ability to count.  And that somewhere was at the beginning.  To make matters worse, I didn’t even realize what I’d done until I had all the warp wound onto the back beam.  I’m missing a total of 48 threads.  I didn’t realize it until I came up a thread short at the end.  That’s when I found I’d made a threading error.  I’d threaded 2 on the same shaft, side by side.  Easy fix, I just needed to remove that extra one and add an extra to the end, because after that, it was threaded right.  (Or so I thought until I got into the 2nd towel.)  I decided that instead of hurting a brain cell trying to figure out the best way to fix it, I’d go ahead and make the towels for us using only one weft color instead of the two in the magazine.  After I get these done, I’ll do it all over again for K, only right this time.  I fracking hope.

So here they are on the loom

The right side should mirror the left side, there should be a wide red stripe on the edge, not a thin one.  There should also be 50 tan on the right, just like the left.  But noooo.  Adding insult to injury is that threading error going right up the middle.  Like I said, just for us but it still irritates the piss out of me that I didn’t catch it until I was into the 2nd towel, and that was only because I’d used the wine color for the weft in that one.  Now it looks and laughs at me constantly, no matter the tan weft.

When I grow up, I want to put a warp on the loom that doesn’t have any mistakes.  Dammit.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janice in GA
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 13:55:30

    I feel your pain. If I have to count over 10 at any given time, I get messed up. And tracking two different counts?? My head would explode.

    Reply

  2. Elisa
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 14:11:10

    Yeah, my head would explode too. Add in trying to warp B2F and the entire project would still be sitting in a puddle against the wall where I’d thrown it.

    Reply

  3. Life Looms Large
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 14:14:08

    Bummer!! Plus, it’s waffle weave, right? I find that fabric extremely hard to use for anything but things related to water – so it’s not like you can sew it into a cool tote or laptop case or whatever. (At least I don’t think so.)

    You can cut off the warp part way through and fix things if you want. I’ve blogged about cutting off after a first towel – then you can pull out the part that’s wrong, re-thread and re-sley adding in your missing threads.

    Although, in your case, I’d be tempted after you finish this towel, to cut off all the white threads on the far left. Then it will look intentionally asymmetrical to my eye….and I, for one, love asymmetry. I’m pretty sure the blog HandweavingToday shows trimming off a lavender border in a recent post.

    If you want more details, you know where to find me!! No pressure to do any of this though. Just wanted to commiserate and throw out some options.

    Or just keep going!

    Good luck!!

    Sue

    Reply

  4. Donna S.
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 20:22:44

    Oh don’t be embarrassed……..it is comforting to know everyone else makes mistakes too. But I do hate it for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

