Still with the warping method


(I get a big fat Fail on that last post.  I said you could click the yarn display picture for bigger.  I’ve fixed that in case anyone does want to see the bigger pic.)

Still obsessed with the warping.  I watched Peggy Osterkamp’s dvd – Warping Back to Front.  It looks easy enough.  Then again, so did another video I watched online and that one didn’t work out well for me.  Regardless, I’m going to give it a try.  At this point, I don’t care whether it’s front-to-back or back-to-front or with my feet, I’m mostly concerned with getting the most even tension I can.  If it makes it go faster, that’s a bonus.  Getting even tension is the part of beaming the warp that causes me the most frustration.  Bad words fly, my face turns red, the pets scatter.

I’ve got several things on my ToDo List, enough to keep me busy for the next two months.  More waffle weave towels in 8/2 cotton, scarves in tencel, merino/tencel, & silk, and I want to do some mug rugs to try double weave pick up.  Is pick up spelled pickup, pick-up, or pick up?  I googled pickup sticks weaving and the first three were all different.  Until someone tells me otherwise, I’m going for pick up.  Pickup makes me think of what we called our trucks when I was growing up on the farm.  And speaking of pick up, I got my new pick up stick from Tools of the Loom.

Pictures don’t do it justice.  I just love the feel of these.  And I’d be saying that even if I didn’t know John.

Someone had a nifty little blogoversary button on their sidebar and I made one for myself.  I used the start date of this blog, even though this blog sat neglected for quite a while.  In truth, I’ve been blogging off and on since 2003.  Apparently I’m restless when it comes to blogs too, since mine has changed names and moved several times.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janice in GA
    Nov 07, 2009 @ 11:31:27

    When I started thinking about weaving again, one of the first things I did was go to Linda J. from the handspinners guild and get a weaving lesson, with emphasis on warping. Getting an even tension on the warp was always one of the BIG frustrations when I was weaving before.

    I can do all the calculations. I don’t have threading problems (well, no more than anyone else.) I UNDERSTAND all that stuff. But getting a good, evenly tensioned warp on the loom? FAIL. Over and OVER. Whether I warped back to front, or front to back, I was just missing something.

    Linda makes it look easy. I was apparently doing MOST things right. I just hope I still have the Linda mojo when I put my next warp on.

    Reply

  2. Life Looms Large
    Nov 07, 2009 @ 19:20:17

    I use the Chandler method when I warp and I’ve found that over time my warps have had more and more even tension. (I’m warping back to front most of the time now.) It’s weird because I wanted to get more even tension, but it doesn’t seem like I changed anything. I think I just got better at being consistent the whole way through.

    Good luck!

    (I don’t know how to spell pick-up correctly. I’m not even sure what spelling I prefer!)

    Sue

    Reply

Leave a Reply

