Has anyone seen my mind


On the loom, rayon chenille:

I’ll get a better picture once it’s off the loom.  I hope.  Once again, I’m reminded how much I don’t like alternating 2 shuttles.  It takes so much longer to pick up a shuttle, throw it, put it down, pick up the other shuttle, throw it, put it down, than it does to pick up a shuttle, throw it throw it throw it.  I stopped weaving 3 inches short because I was just plain tired of it.   I still have enough warp on for another scarf, where I’ll only be using 1 color for the weft, and it will go much faster.

Yesterday was the Ventura County Handweavers & Spinners Open House.  (Scroll down if you want to skip my blathering and see the yarn I bought.) This is the 3rd one I’ve gone to.  One would think that you could go, spend a half hour or so browsing, then be on your way home.  Not me.  First thing I did was see Elisa and spent a few minutes resisting her trying to talk me into a spinning wheel.  Evil spinners, always trying to lure us poor unsuspecting souls into their evil spinning lairs.  I walked around the vendor booths.  Then walked around the booths again.  Oh my gosh, you guys, I could stand in the RedFish DyeWorks booth for hours.  I practically did.  I stared at the 60/2 silk in all it’s beauty.  I stood on one foot, then the other, and drove the poor vendor crazy asking questions.  How many ends per inch?  How many skeins for a scarf?  And I didn’t do this just once.  I stopped at that booth 3 times while I was there.  I wrote down some colors that I liked, then told them I would see what kind of plan I could come up with, and order online.  After I left the open house, not a mile down the road, I realized I should have taken a picture of that booth.  I thought about going back.  A little farther down the road, still thinking of all those lovely yarns, I realized that hey, I had just bought a book at Village Spinning & Weaving’s booth, and it likely had something in it that would give me some ideas for the silk.  So I took the next exit, pulled into a parking lot, and looked through the book (Twill Thrills).  I found something I liked, and headed back to the open house, where I proceeded to buy 60/2 silk.  60/2!  The draft I’m going to use says to use it at 48 ends per inch.  48!  Has anyone seen my mind, because I seem to have lost it. At least I stayed away from the 120/2 silk.  And I still forgot to take a picture of the booth.

Yarns added to the stash.  I have actual plans for some of it, but not all:

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Life Looms Large
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 15:14:03

    Yummy yarn!!! You picked some great colors!

    Haven’t seen your mind around here!! (And that’s good since I’m on the east coast!) I look forward to your adventures with silk. I bought some last month, but haven’t even thought about what to do with it yet.

    I like your story about taking time to make up your mind – especially that you went down the road and then went back. The Twill Thrills books has some cool patterns in it. I’ll be interested to see what you do.

    I love the bottom 4 yarns in your picture together!

    Good luck on the chenille scarves!! More weaving time is good sometimes, right? (Maybe I’m trying to convince myself!)

    Sue

    Reply

  2. Janice in GA
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 15:39:27

    ::hynotism eyes and voice::

    Spin…. spin… you know you want to….. spinning is good….

    /he&v

    Reply

  3. ladyoftheloom
    Oct 20, 2009 @ 09:31:01

    I agree with Sue, yummy yarn. I love the colors. The hardest part for me is choosing a project and after that choosing the yarns and after that choosing more yarns and after that choosing the website to order from…oops.

    My evil spinning enabler is named Mary. Give up now, they always win.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

