Trouble letting go


I’ve had my current cell phone for a couple of years.  I got it when we still lived in Georgia and still have the same numbers programmed into it.  I’ve added a couple of course but most of the contacts in there have been there for a long while.  Hubby and I are getting new phones this weekend.   Being as I don’t have a way to magically zap my contacts from the old phone into the new one, I have to either write them all down, or I can enter them as contacts in Gmail so I can zap them into the new phone.  As I was going through them, a sadness came over me.   There’s no reason to have Happy Wok still in there.  I mean, they are still in Georgia.  And Dog Recess?  The one place that it didn’t bother me to leave the dog.  I don’t need that number either.  Still, I didn’t want to get rid of them.  They were a part of my life.  I feel like it’s one more thing that I’m losing, even though I’ve already lost them.  But I need to let go.  I need to move forward and stop holding on to those things.  Better to let them go now than to go through them another day and feel the loss.  They’re just phone numbers.  Phone numbers that I can’t use, that serve no purpose other than to remind me that they’re no longer useful.

On the bright side, I’m getting a new phone!

Leave a Reply

