Stupid black yarn


I have a huge cone of black 8/2 cotton that I bought for $3 a pound.  A bargain, right?  It would be if it was quality yarn.  Winding the warp on the warping wheel, I suddenly found myself with an end of yarn.  This actually happened 4 times.  It didn’t break while I was winding.  It was just the end.  I didn’t know whether to be pissed that it just suddenly ended, or to wish they’d at least knotted it.  Finding the beginning of the next strand was a pain too.  At least with a knot, I would have known where the next piece began.    I also found that it’s not spun well, at least I’m guessing that’s what it is.  The yarn would be running through by fingers and next thing you know, I’d have a thin spot and the next part of the yarn seems bunched up.  I continued winding it on to the loom anyway.  When I was tying it on to the front apron bar, as I’m pulling on the tie to tighten it, several strands broke off at once.  The 10/2 cotton I’ve worked with didn’t even do that.  This yarn is not meant to be used as warp.  But since I’ve got it on there, I’m going to weave it anyway.  As much as possible, that is.

So far, it looks like this

The light colored weft is lavender, even though it looks kind of pink in the top part of the photo.  I don’t know if this yarn will be sturdy enough to hold groceries.  A cereal box stuck in there the wrong way and the next thing you know, your tomatoes are taking a trip across the parking lot.  And before someone even suggests lining the thing I’ll tell you right now that is probably beyond my sewing skills.  Then again, I can be stubborn and I may just finish weaving it and line it, just so I can say I did it.

Leave a Reply

