All over the place


I got 2 of the towels hemmed before washing.  And I hemmed them by hand!  I am not a seamstress (definitely not a sewer, eww) by any means but I think I did okay.  They made it through the wash without coming undone.  In my book, that’s a success.  I love these towels!  They’re soft and smooshy and I love drying my hands with them.  Even though I still have the one huge hank left, and also a full ball from the 1st hank that I wound on the ballwinder, I’m going to watch for Newton’s sale and pick up more.  Maybe I’ll even try dyeing some.  I still need to hem the last towel, I just couldn’t wait any longer to wash the ones I had done to see how they’d turn out.

Now I need to decide what’s next.  Every time I finish something, I drive myself crazy with What’s Next.  There are so many things I want to try and do.  It’s like being in a room with 30 children, all of them screaming Me Next!  There’s double weave to do double width and double weave with reversible designs. Shadow weave, iridescents, using rags.  Then there’s the projects – blankets, bags, towels, scarves, shawls, rag rugs.  And which yarn for which project?  And which yarn for which draft for which project. It all gets jumbled together and I bounce from idea to idea and don’t get anything done because everything seems to crash like a 20 car pile-up.  I need to sit down and make an actual list of all these things, tie them together, and start at the top and work my way down when it’s time to start something new.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Elisa
    Sep 22, 2009 @ 17:00:13

    What did your waffle towels look like after you washed them? I’m thinking I did something wrong on mine; they have floats on the right side that I can put my fingernail under. I showed them to my weaving mentor and she said they’re fine . . . but I’m still doubting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

