Playing with waffles


The guild’s library has a copy of The Weaving Book by Helene Bress so I brought it home to see what the fuss was all about.  This book was expensive when it was new and in print, and if you try to buy it now, you’ll pay a pretty penny for it.  It is rumored that it will be printed again in the future and when it does, I’d love to have it.  It’s the same concept as a couple of books that are in print and available now, A Handweavers Book of Patterns, The Handweaver’s Pattern Directory, and A Weaver’s Book of 8 Shaft Patterns.  You get a threading, then different  treadlings for those threadings.  But it’s also different.  There were 4 threadings, A, B, C, and D.  In the next eleventy billion pages, there are hundreds of treadlings that go with those 4 threadings.  Make sense?  Probably not, unless you see the book.  Regardless, I’d been wanting to try waffle weave so I picked 3 different treadlings.

This is towel number 1.  The threading is B, the treadling is #172 on page 65.

Towel 2, #168B on page 65

And towel 3, #165B on page 64

It’s hard to tell a difference at first glance.  If you click each of the pictures, you’ll get bigger pictures and it’s easier to see (if you can see through the blur, ugh).  These have not been wet finished.  I finished the weaving on August 26 and took them off the loom but I haven’t decided if I want to cut them apart and hem them before throwing them in the washer, or if I want to wash them while they are all still together.  I’m anxious to see how these look after the finishing, if the 3 will look more alike or if I’ll still be able to tell a difference so I need to get that decision made.

The yarn was some unknown cotton from Newton’s that I paid $3 for a huge hank.  I warped the loom at 20 threads per inch, with a total of 405 threads, and wove for 27″ for each towel.  Off the loom, they are 17 1/2 inches wide, and are 24″, 24 1/2″, and 25″ long.  I still have yarn left from the hank.  I think it had 32 wpi.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Clare
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 07:33:38

    This is really interesting, thanks for showing these. I currently have waffle weave on my counter-march loom, and have no intention of retying up all those treadles until I have exhausted all waffle possibilities!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

