Me and the loom are not on the best of terms. I don’t know if it’s because I haven’t warped correctly, if the loom isn’t put together right, if I’m beating too hard, or if I don’t have a proper shuttle. When I first start weaving, the fabric looks okay. I think. For instance, I put a warp on that has 10 strands of one color, then 10 strands of another, then 4 strands, then 10, and so on. I was going for a plaid/tartan effect. I then did a weft of 10, 10, 4, etc. The first bit looks okay. Where the 10 weft strands cross the 10 warp threads, it looks square. Further down the road, the 10 weft threads look to be half of the 10 warp threads.

Another thing that seems to be happening, which I’m assuming is part of what the problem above is, is that the warp is moving. I’m not sure if I can explain this correctly. Using the same warp, I do the first couple of weft threads. As I add more wefts, the “cloth” is moving over the front bar. I haven’t adjusted the tension or moved it in any way, other than beating more weft threads into place. Maybe I’m beating too hard?

I’m just doing all this to learn. Instead of jumping right in there, I should probably do more reading than lusting over the different drafts and seeing if I can actually follow said drafts. I know there’s an answer for what I’m doing wrong and instead of sitting here typing about it, I need to read up. I have a couple of books checked out from the library, and found The Art of Weaving, and A Handweavers Workbook from the library’s book sale. The only book I don’t have that I wish I did is Deborah Chandler’s book, which is buried in storage at the moment.

Leave a Reply

